The name Argyll is derived from the Gaelic, Oir Gaidheal, edge, or border of the Gael.


Argyll was the birthplace of the Scottish nation, the site of the kingdom of Dalriada founded in 500AD, the capitol of which was at the hill fort of Dunadd.


The holy isle of Iona is in Argyll. It is the burial place of early Kings of Scots, including: Kenneth I, Malcolm I, Duncan I, and Macbeth.


A map of Argyll can be found here.

Kilchurn and Beinn Cruachan

  Kilchurn Castle on Loch Awe, overlooked by Beinn Cruachan.

Argyll is an area on the west coast of Scotland, and the birthplace of the Scottish nation. Traditionally, Argyll was comprised of prominent areas that included Ardnamurchan, Morvern, Sunart, Appin, Benderloch, Lorne, Cowal, Knapdale, Kintyre, and the inner Hebridean Islands of Islay, Jura, Mull, Iona and others. While originally considered a county, the Local Government etc. (Scotland) Act in 1994 reorganized Scotland into 32 Council Areas. Thus, much of northern Argyll is now included in the Highland Council Area, and the southern part joined with the island of Bute to constitute the Argyll & Bute Council.

Historically Argyll was the second largest area in Scotland, stretching from Arnamurchan Point, the westernmost piece of land on the island of Great Britain, to the mull of Kintyre, the peninsula that lies within twenty miles of northern Ireland.

Historic sites permeate the land. The Island of Iona, just west of Mull, was where where the Book of Kells was created, and is the burial place of early Kings of Scots. The hill fort of Dunadd, between Mid Argyll and Knapdale, was the first capital of the Dalriadic Scots. A plethora of pre-historic standing stone circles are situated in Argyll, and include: Ballymeanoch and Achnabreck in Kilmartin; Balliscate and Dervaig on Mull; Ballochroy and Beacharr on Kintyre; Strontoiller, near Oban, and many other sites.

Many places in Argyll are part of Clan Campbell history. On Loch Awe, in Mid Argyll, are both Innis Chonnel, the first prominent castle of the Campbells, and Kilchurn Castle, the first castle of the Breadalbane Campbells. Southeast of Loch Awe is Loch Fyne, a salt water loch. Toward the northern end of Loch Fyne is the town of Inveraray, where the Campbell Chief lives in Inveraray Castle. Towering over all of Argyll is Cruachan Ben. Ben means "mountain" in the Gaelic, and Cruachan means, "the big stack.". Cruachan is the war cry, or slogan, of Clan Campbell, taken not from the imposing mountain, but from the name of the gathering ground of the clan on Loch Awe. Craignish, Strachur, Barbreck, Glenfeochan, Saddell, Glendaruel, and Auchinbreck are just a few of the places names at which lived armigerous Campbells, which give rise to the titles of Campbell of . . .

Campbell Facts
Clan Sept Names
Campbell Tartan
Campbell Castles
Clan Campbell Music
Tales of the Clan
Highland Attire
NE Highland Games
Commissioner List
Clan Campbell Links
Scottish Links
Contact Us